Tag Archives: million mile club

Coach Operators recognized for safe driving record

The Omnitrans Million Mile Club has welcomed new drivers to its ranks! Fourteen coach operators are recognized this year for their achievement in safely driving 25,000 hours without a preventable accident, a feat that is accomplished over the course of 12 years. One driver has completed 50,000 driving hours over 25 years without a preventable accident, making them a 2 million mile club member.

From left to right: Salvador Soto Luna, Antoinette Meza, Jerry Milton (2 Million Mile), Michael Morrow, Dagoberto Perez, Elizabeth Samaro, Clarissa VanDyke.

“To put into perspective what each new member of the elite Million Mile Drivers Club has accomplished, consider the miles driven,” says Assistant Transportation Manager Mike DiFonzo. “The circumference of the earth is 24,901 miles. Each driver drove an equivalent of 40 trips around the earth without a chargeable accident or safety violation. What an amazing accomplishment!”

From left to right, are: Manuel Acosta, Kathleen Havey, David Castillo, and sbX driver Juan Miranda.

Each driver was presented with a special plaque, jacket, hat, belt buckle, certificate of recognition, a silver name plate, a day off with pay, and $500. Our 2 Million Mile driver also received a bonus five-day cruise to Mexico including paid time off!

Our congratulations go to these drivers for setting the standard of excellence. We are grateful for their commitment to safety as they connect our community.

1 Million Mile Coach Operators

  • Manuel Acosta
  • David Castillo
  • Kathleen Havey
  • Antoinette Meza
  • Juan Miranda
  • Michael Morrow
  • Dagoberto Perez
  • Earl Roberts
  • Elizabeth Samaro
  • Salvador Soto Luna
  • Dennail Sweatt
  • Jackie Sweatt
  • Wendell Taylor
  • Clarissa Van Dyke

2 Million Mile Coach Operators

  • Jerry Milton

To view more photos of our 2017 Million Mile Club inductees, click here.

Omnitrans Million Mile Safe Drivers Honored

New members of the Omnitrans Million Mile Club celebrate their achievement

This month, the Omnitrans Million Mile Club welcomed nine new 1 million mile drivers and three 2 million mile drivers into its ranks. These dedicated coach operators have achieved the prestigious 1 million mile mark by driving for 12 years, totaling 25,000 driving hours, all without a preventable accident. It’s the equivalent of driving to the moon and back–twice!

1 Million Mile safe driver award winners Andrew Urena, LuChere Beckum, Charline Center, Michael Spears, Bennett Reid, and David McGalliard. (also Anontio Castillo and Dennis Bowlin not pictured)

The coach operators were honored in a special awards ceremony at the Omnitrans Board of directors meeting on April 4th. Each received a certificate of recognition and a check for $5oo.

Long-time coach operators Karen Carnall and Marco Chacon (also Enrique Perez, not pictured) have reached the incredible 2 million mile safe driving mark.

Our gratitude and congratulations go out to these exceptional coach operators who set the agency standard for safety and excellence:

One Million Mile Drivers

  • LuChere Beckum
  • Dennis Bowlin
  • Antonio Castillo
  • Charline Center
  • Arthur Gonzalez
  • David McGalliard
  • Bennett Reid
  • Michael Spears
  •  Andrew Urena

Two Million  Mile Drivers     

  • Karen Carnall
  • Marco Chacon
  • Enrique Perez

 Click on any of the photos to enlarge. Do you recognize any of your favorite drivers?